Posted by: dreamofdestiny | Saturday, 03 Oct 2009

Movie Review – Sorority Row

Sorority Row

Sorority Row

I have been so out of touch with movies lately. You know, I thought from seeing the title, I thought Sorority Row is a chick flick movie, but turns out to be a remake of 1983’s The House on Sorority Row, a low-budget movie made when I was just a little kid, so I cannot review that. But I can review this.

I felt a certain kind of similarity with the movie Prom Night, which portrays a bunch of high-school students getting murdered by a psychotic ex-teacher. Only, in this movie, replace high-school students with college students/graduates, and psychotic ex-teacher with mystery man. I cannot really spoil it by revealing who the mystery murderer is right šŸ™‚ . In any case, what I thought of as a horror movie turned out to be a thriller of sorts.

The simple plot is that there is this girl, Megan, played by Audrina Patridge, who decided, with the help of her friends, to pull a prank on her boyfriend, Garrett, played by Matt O’Leary, for cheating on her. In the ensuing prank, Megan was accidentally murdered by Garrett, who was wrecked with nervousness. The team, save for one, maybe two, decided to dump her body in a mineshaft. Eight months later, after graduation, each of the surviving students received a familiar message on their phone, to their horror. Shortly after that, the murdering trail happens.

I do not really enjoy these kind of movies, in some ways they are kind of pointless. What is more unbearable is seeing a bunch of college students with endless partying and sex and beer and all that, gosh, what is going on with the movie industry. They really should come up with nice, quality movies that actually have substance rather than random gore-inducing terror like this.

Yeap, you guessed it right, I do not like this movie at all. You know, I feel I wasted my money on this one. But, I was with friends, so I guess it is time well spent after all.

Leave a Reply

Categories

