Posted by: dreamofdestiny | Friday, 08 Aug 2008

Hello World

Hello World – those familiar with programming would know that this phrase is the most commonly used when one just started learning a computer programming language.

For the longest time, I decided not to have a blog – for more than one and a half reason. First of all, I think it is a commitment. Maintaining a constant update recquires time and effort, for which I did not think I was ready. Secondly, fear. Fear that I would be exposing my life to the world. Thirdly … no, that is about it really. Two reasons. More than one and a half, right.

So where do I begin? Let us start with why I finally decide to blog. In short, it is because of an event that happened today itself, at precisely eight in the morning. I would not detail the event that transpired, for it is very personal.

Enough that I mention this, to give you, my readers, an idea. Imagine this. You remembered your past, say ten years ago, as crystal clear possible – what kind of person you were like in school, the way your high school friends remembered you, and the like. One day, now – ten years later – you met your high school friends, and none of them remembered the person you were ten years ago. Your friends described you in a very different manner, and you know for certain that was not the kind of person you were ten years ago. Your friends and family showed you photos of yourself ten years ago, and you know deep in your heart that you did not look anything like that in those pictures.

How would you feel? What would you do? What happened in that ten years?

2007 was the Year of Hell. On 07.07.07, a piece of my past was revealed. A major piece. It changed my life, forever.

2008 is the Year of Heal. The news I received today, 08.08.08 – I am uncertain how it would help in any ‘healing’ way. But then, there are still five moons left in the year, a lot of things could happen.

What do I expect here? Responses, probably. Opinions from my fellow friends. You, my friend who is reading this. If there is one thing that I have learnt from life, it is that we can learn a lot from each other, through each other’s diverse experiences in life, and, maybe death as well.

These are the reasons why I decide to blog now.

I hope to share with you the journey of my life, the dreams I dream, the thoughts I think, the emotions I feel, and above all, the people I meet.

So welcome all, and … Hello World!

Responses

  1. Option 1:
    Leave your old friend and find new one. They ain’t worth it.

    Option 2:
    Change yourself to change their perception on you.

    Option 3: My Choice
    Forget about it. You can’t be concern too much of what people think of you.

    There is no year of hell, only if you feel it that way.

  2. Woo, thanks for the comment. I really appreciate it. Option 1 is not possible for me. Option 2 – I am open to changes that will benefit me (easier said than done though).

    Option 3 – I would d go with this too, but I want to hear my friends’ opinions as well.

    About the Year of Hell, hm, this is best explained in future posts. It is much more than what it seems at this point.

  3. ..Hello world..gosh!i remembered my days of C++ :-)..

    ..Option 1:
    I dun really agree on this.ur frens may not now you dat well,but dat doesnt mean u need to ditch them just bcoz they remember you differently than wat you really are/were.

    ..Option 2:
    not so favourable to changing myself unless for the better (again,it depends laa)

    ..Option 3:
    if it were to be me,id follow this option :-).but den again,if the change was for the better..dun choose this.but it;s merely a comment,dun really bother wat ppl think about you.

    ..ive always believe dat,a change will make an impact,ONLY if YOU WANT to change.otherwise,it will just be another “phase” and you’ll go back to the old you.

    ..bottomline..others would haf their own opinion(s) about you.but wat you think about urself,now dat’s wat really matters.

  4. Thanks Adrin for the comment.

    I would not ditch my friends. I would say that if they are my friends, than they would be doing things in my best interest, and I would do the same to them. Sometimes, this can hurt, cause truth sometimes hurt.

    There are certain aspects of my personality that I would not mind change, if it is for the better.

    Yes, there are times that I would not care about what people think. At times, this is the best option to choose from, especially when you do not know who to trust.

    Change is always difficult for me, being a Scorpio and all. I wish I could have some of Gemini’s strength here. To them, ‘change’ IS ‘constant’ 🙂

  5. welcome to the blogging world..
    blog is one of the medium for us to share thoughts and express our feelings..

    but well, some things are better left unsaid.. so takyah takut that you’ll expose about your life to the world..

    i hate the past..
    we can’t changed the past right?

  6. Thanks Lina, for the comment. That is one of the reason I blog, to share thoughts and feelings.

    Having said that, I agree with you. I will not be sharing every single thing here. That could be disastrous.

    Well, we cannot change the past, but we can learn from it, so that we would better handle our future. In essence, the past becomes our experience.

  7. yeah right..
    the past becomes our experience..
    and the experience make us stronger and more mature..

    bak kata pepatah “pengalaman mengajar kita erti kehidupan”

  8. Exactly. One of these days, I am going to talk about experience. It is an interesting topic, if I might say.

  9. Way to hold your head up kiddo!?

    That’s Right!..
    It’s not all Cardinal, Ordinal & Nominal out there!!!
    #aKrds
    +1st blog looks great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

